I Quit

About two weeks ago, I quit Facebook. There wasn’t a big to-do or grand announcement. I just logged in and deactivated – it was that simple. For months, maybe more, I’ve been trying to convince myself of all the reasons I really need Facebook. It’s great for getting in touch, I thought, or finding long-lost friends and keeping up with family.

But there are also a bunch of reasons why I don’t need Facebook:

  • I don’t need access to everyone I’ve ever met. Real friends have my info and know how to find me.
  • I don’t need to convince the world my life is decent. Humble bragging is still bragging, and it’s lame.
  • I don’t need to be entertained 24/7. It’s okay to bored. It’s okay to let the mind wander.
  • I don’t need everyone to know what I’m doing all the time. I’m just not that important.
  • I don’t need to use likes and comments as a gauge of self-worth.

Facebook can be really awesome, and if it isn’t distracting or unhealthy for you, post-on my friend! But for now, I need to quit Facebooking and focus more on the people and memory-making in my real life. I challenge you to do the same.

facebook

Leave a Reply

